For a more focused and effective management and to reduce conflict in resource use, the coastal area and municipal waters of Dumalinao  shall be designated into seven (7) coastal zones, namely: Marine Protected Zone (PMZ), Trade &Navigational Zone (TNZ), Multiple Fishery Zone (MFZ), Commercial Fishing Zone(CFZ), Recreational Zone (RZ), Settlement and Agro- Forestry Zone (AFZ) and Aqua-Culture Zones (ACZ). MPZ shall include marine sanctuaries and mangrove preservation areas.

Marine Protected Zone (MPZ)

The Marine Protected Zone covers areas in the coast and municipal waters designated for the rehabilitation, protection and replenishment of fishery and coastal resources because of their ecological function as spawning and feeding grounds for one or a group of marine species. These marine protected areas (MPAs) are characterized by high productivity and biodiversity.